What Is Information Management ?

The emergence of computers has made information an important resource for corporate management and operations, and the introduction of information systems has become a weapon for organizations to survive in the market.

However, there is little overlap between general organization management and the training and cognition of information technology personnel.

Therefore, in the early days of the information age, most information systems only replaced certain established manual procedures with programs, and ignored the interactive relationship between information and organizations as well as people. Hence, a new discipline – “Information Management” was born.

The History of Our Department

The predecessor of this school, Ming Chuan Commercial College, took the lead in establishing the Department of Computing, becoming a pioneer in cultivating computer professionals in Taiwan.

In 1979, this school was renamed the Ming Chuan School of Management, and our department was renamed the Department of Information Management. In 1986, our department established a master’s program.

Our department has been educating students to work in Taiwan’s industry for more than 50 years, and has become an important force in the progress of Taiwan’s information technology in the business domain.

List of Department Chairs

First Department Chair is Mr. Fen Guang-Ling (August 1969 to July 1974).
Second Department Chair is Mr. Huang Ke-Dong (August 1975 to July 1985).
Third Department Chair is Dr. Shen Pei-Di (August 1986 to July 1989).

After Being Renamed as “The Department of Information Management”:
First Department Chair is Mr. Niu Ze-Cheng (August 1990 to July 1991).
Second Department Chair is Mr. Lee Hsuan-Shih (August 1992 to July 1993).
Third Department Chair is Mr. Ho Tsu-Feng (August 1993 to July 1999).
Fourth Department Chair is Ms. Shen Pei-Di (August 1999 to July 2001).
Fifth Department Chair is Mr. Lu Jun-Cheng (August 2001 to July 2003).
Sixth Department Chair is Ms. Cheng, Yi-Ping (August 2003 to July 2006).
Seventh Department Chair is Mr. Lin, Jyh-Jong (August 2006 to July 2016).
Eighth Department Chair is Mr. Lee, Yung-Sun (August 2016 to July 2021).
Present Department Chair is Mr. Lin, Jyh-Jong (August 2021 to present).

Campus Information
■Taipei:250 Zhong Shan N. Rd., Sec. 5, Taipei 111, Taiwan. | +886 2 2882-4564
■Taoyuan: 5 De Ming Rd., Gui Shan District, Taoyuan County 333, Taiwan. | +886 3 350-7001
■ Jihe: 3F-8F, No.130, Jihe Rd., Shihlin District, Taipei City 111, Taiwan. | +886 2 2882-4564
■ Kinmen: 105 De Ming Rd., Jinsha Township, Kinmen County 890, Taiwan. | +886 355-233
■ Michigan Location:Gilbertson Hall, Saginaw Valley State University, 7400 Bay Road, Saginaw, MI 48710 U.S.A. Telephone: 1-989-964-2497 (U.S.) | +886 2 2882-4564 (Taiwan)